Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Reinstatement

License Application

Expired 3 months or MORE
For licenses expired three (3) months or more. See below for additional details. Application must be filled out completely:​

Application.doc

Reinstatement

For Kentucky Social Work

According to KRS 335.130(1), a licensee shall renew his or her license on a three (3) year basis in order to continue to practice social work in Kentucky.

  • The three (3) year renewal cycle is based on the date that your initial license was issued by the board.
  • A licensee must update their contact information with the board.
  • Notify the board if your personal or employment information changes – update your information at the Self Service Portal.
  • If your Kentucky social work license has expired, you must immediately CEASE & DESIST the practice of social work in Kentucky. You may not practice social work until your license is reinstated​​.

Two regulations apply to reinstatement:

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Reinstatement Process

After the board receives all required documents and the fees, your license will be reinstated to the original month and day of expiration.

Step 1: Reinstatement

​​

Expired 3 months or LESS

  1. Complete License Renewal Application
  2. Continuing Education
    • Include copies of CE certificates of completion; or
    • Write a request for six (6) month extension
  3. Employment
    • Write a letter explaining where you have been employed; and
    • Begin with where you worked on the date your license expired to the date reinstatement is filed
  4. Fees
    • License renewal fee: LSW - $75, CSW - $125, LSCW - $200
    • Late renewal penalty fee: $100
    • If renewing online, fees are assessed at time application is submitted
    • If submitting a paper application, fees may be included in one check made payable to "KY State Treasurer"
  5. After your reinstatement packet is reviewed, you will receive an email notice from board staff either requesting additional information or approving reinstatement​
​​

Expired 3 months or MORE

  1. Complete the Application Form (see above) as if you're applying for licensure all over again
    • You may not have to resubmit official transcripts
    • You may not have to resubmit ASWB Score Report for the exam
    • You will be required to obtain current official verification of any out-of-state license(s)
  2. Continuing Education
    • Include copies of CE certificates of completion; or
    • Write a request for six (6) month extension
  3. Employment
    • Write a letter explaining where you have been employed; and
    • Begin with where you worked on the date your license expired to the date reinstatement is filed
    • You may include a resume
  4. Fees
    • $25 nonrefundable application review fee made payable to "KY State Treasurer"
    • DO NOT include license renewal fees or late penalty fees at this point
  5. After your reinstatement packet is reviewed, you will receive an email notice from board staff requesting additional information or approving reinstatement as asking you to mail the required fees:
    • License renewal fee: LSW - $75, CSW - $125, LSCW - $200
    • Late renewal penalty fee: $100​

Step 2: Continuing Education

This step depends on whether you've completed the required CE hours in the three years preceding the date of your request for reinstatment.

15 hours are required for LSW; 30 hours are required for CSW & LCSW

  • If you have completed the required CE programs, mail in copies of the CE certificates of attendance for the three (3) years preceding your request for reinstatement; or
  • If you have NOT completed the required CE credits, you can mail in a request for a six (6) month extension to take the required CE courses.

Six (6) month extension

  • If you need the six month extension, you will still have to complete the required hours of continuing education for the next renewal period.
  • If you fail to send in the CE certificates on or before the six (6) month period ends, your license will expire.
  • After the end of the extension period, you must complete the required CE hours for your next renewal.​​

FAQs