It is the purpose and policy of the Commonwealth of Kentucky to protect the public from being misled by incompetent and unauthorized persons, and unprofessional conduct on the part of qualified social workers by providing regulatory authority over persons who hold themselves out to the public as social workers.
The purpose of KRS Chapter 335 is to promote high standards of professional performance for those engaged in the profession of social work by regulating the title and setting standards of qualification, training, and experience for those who seek to engage in the practice of social work.
Laws and Regulations
Follow these links to the Legislative Research Commission for the Board of Social Work Kentucky Revised Statutes and Kentucky Administrative Regulations:
020 = This is the current effective administrative regulation.
020reg = This is an administrative regulation going through the legislative process for amendment.
020E = Emergency administrative regulation in effect.
Public Complaint Against Social Worker
You have a right to expect a professional standard of care and conduct from a social worker. If you believe a social worker has violated Kentucky statutes or regulations, you may send a written complaint to the Kentucky Board of Social Work. As the body responsible for regulating the social work profession and protecting the public in matters related to social work, the Board will review your complaint and take appropriate action.
Submit Complaint Online
The Complaint Form is also available in Word or PDF formats.
Code of Ethical Conduct_201 KAR 23.080.pdf
Please print or download instructions.
Steps for Verification of License.pdf
Additional Wall Certificates
Mail the name change request form to request a new wall certificate, and include a $25 check or money order, payable to the KY State Treasurer. Please tell us how you would like your name to appear.
Please complete the form to request a KBSW licensure list. All lists are created in Microsoft Excel format. A header row will be provided in the data. The fee for the licensure list is $50.
Mailing Request Form.pdf